York University Libraries Send feedback to library@yorku.ca

Pathfinder for resources in ...

American History 
August 2001



Scott Reference
Home

Library Home

The following is a selection of material available in various formats either in or through the York University Library System.  For assistance in locating other materials, ask a reference librarian at a Reference Desk or send your inquiry to us through e-mail .  The librarian responsible for collecting in this area is Brent Roe.

Annual Reviews & Current Events
Atlases
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Chronologies
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
General Indexes & Abstracts
Guides to the Literature
Historical Indexes & Abstracts
Newspaper Indexes
Online Sources
Statistics
 

Guides to the Literature

Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Francis Prucha. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1987. 
A comprehensive introductory resource for all students of American history.
Z 1236 P78 1987          (Scott Reference)

Harvard Guide to African-American History. Editor-in-chief: Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press, 2001. 
Provides lists of the most important publications across the field of African-American history.
E 185 H326 2001          (Scott Reference)

Harvard Guide to American History. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1974.   
Provides bibliographies, finding aids, and references to useful sources in the field of American History.
Z 1236 F74          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Reader's Guide to American History. Edited by Peter J. Parish. London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. 
Provides booklist index, general index, thematic index, and cross references. Entries organized under categories of events, individuals, themes and issues.
Z 1236 R43 1997          (Scott Reference)

Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide. Ronald Fritze, Brian Coutts, Louis Vyhnanek. Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1990. 
A reference guide that provides annotations on basic reference sources of interest to historians.  
Z 6201 F72 1990          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

[top of page] Go to top


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History. Edited by  John Mack Faragher. New York: H. Holt, 1998. 
Brief sketches of people, history of government, law, science and education, economic history and culture. Entries are cross-referenced, listed alphabetically.
E 174 A535 1998          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Dictionary of American History: From 1763 to the Present.  Peter Thompson. New York  Facts on File, 2000. 
Brief entries covering people, institutions, events, and ideas of national historical significance. Seeks to "foster a historical understanding of the American nation."  Includes subject index, appendices, maps, and references for further reading.
E 174 T47 2000          (Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.  Edited by Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West. ew York : Macmillan Library Reference, c1996. 
Biographies from the early seventeenth to the end of the twentieth century. Entries cover historical, social, legal, and cultural. Includes all states. Also includes articles on cities of historic significance for African Americans. Essays by prominent authors; index and appendix. 5 vols.
E 185 E54 1996          (Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage.  Edited by Susan Altman. New York : Facts on File, 2000.   Emphasises African-American political and intellectual history.  Provides information on individuals, peoples, places, events, movements, groups, legal cases, and terminology.
E 185 A455 2000          (Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia of American History.  Edited by Richard B. Morris and J.B. Morris. 7th ed. New York: Harper & Row, 1996.   
Part I is a chronology that presents the major political and military events. Part II is a "Topical Chronology" that covers American expansion, constitutional developments, demographic, economic and cultural trends. Part III consists of biographical sketches of noteworthy Americans. Part IV deals with the structure of the federal government, 1789-1893.
E 174.5 E52 1996          (Scott, Scott Reserves)

Encyclopedia of American Political History.  Edited by Paul Finkelman and Peter Wallenstein. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2001. 
E 183 E48 2001
          (Frost Reference)

Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America.  Edited by John Faragher. New York: Facts on File, 1990.   
A quick reference to topics in the history of colonial and revolutionary U.S.A. Includes topic guides and reference citations.
E 188 E63 1990          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships.   J. Norman Heard. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987- .5 vols. 
Contains entries on topics such as: "American Indian tribes, leaders, frontier settlers, captives, explorers and missionaries." Scope of the work is from earliest contact into the twentieth century.
E 76.2 H43 1987          (Scott Reference)

Oxford Companion to American History.  Thomas H. Johnson. New York: Oxford University Press, 1966. Articles summarize the "lives, events and places significant in the founding of the nation." The longer articles sometimes conclude with bibliographies.
E 174 J6 1966          (Scott Reference)


[top of page] Go to top

Chronologies

African American Almanac: Day-by-day Black History.  Leon T. Ross and Kenneth A. Mimms. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, 1997. 
Events chronologically arranged.
E 185 R815 1997          (Scott Reference)

Almanac of American History.  Edited by Arthur M. Schlesinger. New York: Putnum, 1983. 
Overview of American history from the year 1989 to 1982.
E 174.5 A45 1983          (Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates.  Gordon Carruth. 8th ed. New York: Harper & Row, 1987.   
This encyclopedia lists dates arranged in concurrent and chronological order, with descriptions of various events, ranging from politics to theatre.
E 174.5 C3 1987          (Scott Reference)

Famous First Facts: A Record of First Happenings, Discoveries, and Inventions in American History.  Joseph Nathan Kane, Steven Anzovin & Janet Podell. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1997.   
Index by years, days, personal names, geography, and subject.
AG 5 K315 1997          (Scott Reference)

The Timetables of African-American History: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in African-American History.  Sharon Harley. New York : Simon & Schuster, c1995. 
Chronicles significant events, movements, and historical figures from 1492-1992.
E 185 H295 1995          (Scott Reference)

 

[top of page] Go to top

Annual Review & Current Events

The Annual Register.  London: Longman, 1964-. 
A continuation of The Annual Register of World Events, 1758-1963 (D 2 A7 1758-1963 Scott, Frost). Arranged by region or political unit, e.g., the U.N., and then by subject. Statistics, texts of documents and abstracts of speeches are included in the last chapter.
D 2 A7 1964-.           (Scott, Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Facts on File.  New York: Facts on File, 1940-.    
A weekly digest of world news.
D 410 F32          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

 

[top of page] Go to top

Biographical Information

American National Biography.  Edited by John A. Garraty, Mark C. Carnes. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999. 
Conceived as the successor to the Dictionary of American biography. Includes bibliographical references and index.
CT 213 A68 1999          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

The Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography.  Edited by John S. Bowman. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1995.  
Covers major occupations, professions and activities of Americans. Occupational index and index of names.
CT 213 C36 1995          (Scott Reference)

Dictionary of American Biography.  New York: Scribner, 1946-58. 11 vols. and supplement. 
Biographies of noteworthy Americans, from earliest times to 1940.
E 176 D55          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)
E 176 D55, Supplement         
(Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia of American Biography.  John Garraty. New York: Harper & Row, 1996. 
Each entry is divided into two parts: factual information, and interpretation and evaluation.
CT 213 G37 1996          (Scott Reference)

Research Guide to American Historical Biography.  Edited by Robert Muccigrosso.  Washington, DC: Beacham Pub., 1988-1991.
CT 214 R47 1988
          (Scott Reference) 

 

[top of page] Go to top

Statistics

American Statistics Index.  Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973- 
Indexes and abstracts federal government publications which contain statistics.
Z 7554 U5 A46          (BG Reference)

Colonial America to 1763.  Thomas L. Purvis. New York: Facts on File, 1999.  
Provides basic quantitative data from government sources and scholarly studies regarding the Colonial U.S. up to 1763.  Includes statistical tables, textual summary, illustrations, and maps.
E 188 P86 1999          (Scott Reference) 

Revolutionary America, 1763-1800.  Thomas L. Purvis. New York: Facts on File, 1995.   
Provides basic quantitative data from government sources and scholarly studies regarding the Revolutionary U.S. Includes statistical tables, textual summary, illustrations, and maps.
E 162 P86 1995          (Scott Reference)

Statistical Abstract of the United States.  Washington: Government Printing Office.
HA 202 A3
          (Scott Reference, Frost, Frost Reference) 
US 1 C 72.4 St 28
          (Business & Government Publications Library) 

Statistical History of the United States, from Colonial Times to the Present.  United States Bureau of the Census. New York: Basic Books, 1976. 
HA 202 A385 1976
          (BG Reference)

Victorian America, 1876 to 1913.  Crandall Shifflett.  New York: Facts on File, 1996.  
Illustrates diverse aspects of life in the U.S. between 1876-1913.  Offers insight into cultures, economy, and politics
.
E 168 S55 1996          (Scott Reference)

 

Atlases

American Heritage Pictorial Atlas of United States History.  New York: American Heritage Pub. Co., 1966.   Considers United States history with a focus on the role of ethnicity and religion, economics, and natural resources in American society. Information is further reinforced by relevant maps.
G 1201 S1 A4 1966          (Scott Reference)

Atlas of American History.  Robert Ferrell. New York: Facts on File, 1993.  
Provides information on United states wars throughout history using maps as a visual reference
G 1201 S1 F4 1993          (Scott Maps)

Atlas of American History.  Rand McNally and Company.  Chicago: Houghton Mifflin, 1993.
G 1201 S1 R1 1993
          (Scott)

Atlas of Westward Expansion.  Alan Wexler. New York: Facts On File, 1995.  
Discusses important dates and periods of the colonial expansion in to the western United States.  Has references to various maps marking major events. 
G 1201 S1 W44 1995          (Scott Maps)

Dent Atlas of American History. Martin Gilbert. London : J.M. Dent, 1993.  
Provides a short, informative visual guide to American history.  
G 1201 S1 G5 1993          (Scott Maps, Frost Reference)

Mapping America's Past: A Historical Atlas.  Mark C. Carnes and John A. Garraty with Patrick Williams. New York: H. Holt, 1996. 
Gives information on incidents that shaped the diplomatic history of the United States.  Sections include an introductory essay, chronology of events, summary of important treaties, biographies, and bibliographies. 
G 1201 S1 C3 1996          (Scott Maps)

Routledge Historical Atlas of Presidential Elections.  Yanek Mieczkowski. New York: Routledge, 2001.   Provides details of U.S. presidential elections with regards to state boundaries in the United States geographical landscapes.  
G 1201 S1 M5 2001          (Scott Maps)

 

Bibliographies

America and the World 1776-1998: A Handbook of United States Diplomatic History.  Jerry K. Sweeney, Margaret B. Denning, Stephen J. Valone. Prospect Heights, IL: Waveland Press, 2000. 
JX 1407 S9 2000          (Scott Reference)

American Travel Writers, 1776-1864.  Edited by James J. Schramer and Donald Ross. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1997
PN 451 D53 v. 183          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature.  London: Historical Association, 1911-. 
Bibliographic essay format. Has a chapter on "The Americas."
Z 6205 H65          (Scott Reference)

Bibliographies in American History, 1942-1978: A Guide to Materials for Research.  Henry Putney Beers. Woodbridge, CT.: Research Publications, 1982, 2 vols. 
Volume I is organized by topic. Volume II organized geographically. Includes a name and subject index.
Z 1236 B39 1982          (Scott Reference)

Bibliographies in History: An Index to Bibliographies in History Journals and Dissertations Covering the U.S. and Canada. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio, 1989. 2 vols.
Z 1236 B48 1988
          (Scott Reference)

Bibliographies of New England History. Further additions, to 1994. Edited by Roger Parks. Hanover: University Press of New England, 1995.
Z 1251 E1 N455 1995
          (Scott Reference)

Black/White Relations in American History: An Annotated Bibliography.  Leslie V. Tischauser. Pasadena, CA : Salem Press, 1998.
Z 1361 N39 T57 1998
          (Scott Reference)

The Civil War in Books: An Analytical Bibliography.  David J. Eicher. Urbana: University Of Illinois Press, 1997.
Z 1241 E57 1997
          (Scott Reference)

Handbook for Research in American History : A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, c1994.
Z 1236 P78 1994         
(Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

Reader's Guide to American History.  Edited by Peter J. Parish. London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
Z 1236 R43 1997
          (Scott Reference)

Recently Published Articles. Washington: American Historical Association, 1976-1990.  15 vols.
Z 6205 A5a
          (Scott, Frost Reference)

Reconstruction in the United States : An Annotated Bibliography.  David A. Lincove. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Z 1242.8 L56 2000
          (Scott Reference)

Revolutionary America, 1763-1789: A Bibliography. Compiled by Ronald M. Gephart. Washington: Library of Congress, 1984. 2 vols.
Z 1238 G43 1984
          (Scott Reference, Frost Reference)

A Scholar's Guide to Geographical Writing on the American and Canadian Past.  Michael P. Conzen, Thomas A. Rumney, Graeme Wynn. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993.
Z 1247 C66 1993
          (Scott Reference)

A Student's Guide to History. Jules R. Benjamin. Boston : Bedford Books ; New York : St. Martin's, 2001.
D 16.3 B4 2001
          (Scott Reference, Scott Reserve)

United States History: A Bibliography of the New Writings on American History. Louise A. Merriam and James W. Oberly. New York: Manchester UP, 1995.
Z 1236 M47 1995
          (Scott Reference)

United States History: A Selective Guide to Information Sources.  Ron Blazek and Anna H. Perrault. Englewood, Colo : Libraries Unlimited, 1994. 
Z 1236 B57 1994          (Scott Reference)

U.S. Cultural History: A Guide to Information Sources. Philip Mitterling. Detroit: Gale, 1980.
Z 1361 C6 M57
          (Scott Reference)

The U.S. Labor Movement: References and Resources. Robert N. Stern, Daniel B. Cornfield, with Theresa I. Liska and Dee Ann Warmath. London : Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Z 7164 L1 S766 1996
          (Scott Reference)

Women in American History: A Bibliography.  Cynthia E. Harrison. Santa Barbara, Calif: CLIO Press, 1979-. 
Z 7962 H37          (Scott Reference)

Women in U.S. History : A Resource Guide. Lyda Mary Hardy. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
Z 7964 U49 H364 2000         
(Scott Reference)

Women's Movement: References and Resources.  Barbara Ryan. London : Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Z 7963 S9 R93 1996          (Scott Reference)

Writings in American History. Millwood, N.Y.: KTO Press.
E 171 W7         
(Scott Reference)

Writings in Indian History, 1985-1990. Jay Miller, Colin G. Calloway, and Richard A. Sattler. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1995.
Z 1206 M55 1995
          (Scott Reference)

 

Newspaper Indexes

Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper. London: S. Palmer, 1868-1925.
AI 21 T46 1790-1905
          (Scott Microtext)

Index to the Times. London: Times Pub. Co.
AI 21 T46
          (Scott Microtext)

The New York Times Index to the Published News. New York, vols. 1913-.
AI 21 N44
          (Scott Microtext, Frost Reference)

Historical Indexes & Abstracts

America: History and Life. 1964-. 
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.

C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-.
Z 6205 C18
          (Scott Reference)

 

General Indexes & Abstracts

Web of Science  
Contains bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address.

Online Sources

Afro-American Almanac
An online historical perspective of a nation, its people, and its cultural evolution. Organized by broad subject categories covering contemporary issues, cultural aspects, biographies, events. Trivia games. Searchable by keyword.

From Revolution to Reconstruction...And What Happened Afterwards
A hypertext on American history from the colonial period until modern times. The main body comes from a number of USIA-publications: An Outline of American History, An Outline of the American Economy, An Outline of American Government, and An Outline of American Literature. Text has not been changed, but they have been enriched. Searchable by keyword.

Global Access to Educational Sources
A select index of links to sites on American history, policy, and events from colonial settlements through the abolition of slavery.

Historical Maps of the United States
Links to online maps, organized by topics including: early inhabitants, exploration and settlement, territorial maps, military history, etc.

Historical Text Archive Online: United States
Listing of links to other online sources organized by state, historical event or military conflict, historical period, or particular popular culture movement or aspect.

United States (Online Bibliography)
An extensive listing of online sites of historical interest, from census data to diaries.

U.S. Diplomatic History Resources Index
An index of online resources available to historians of American foreign policy. Links to archives, libraries, and embassies and government sites of countries with which the US interacts. Also, sites relating to events, political commentary (historical and contemporary), memoirs, etc.

United States- History
Extensively annotated bibliography of trustworthy online directories, databases, specific resources, etc..

Words and Deeds in American History, Library of Congress
Ninety representative documents from the fifteenth century to the mid-twentieth century from the Manuscript division of the Library of Congress. Divided by themes (Presidency, Law, Military, Diplomacy, Women's History, etc.) and searchable by keyword.


Created July 1998
Revised
August 2001
For suggested additions, corrections, etc., Brent Roe