York University Libraries Send feedback to library@yorku.ca

Selected Sources in...

Canadian Literature in English

Last updated  08/24/01
Please send comments or suggestions to Patti Ryan.

This guide is intended to highlight useful resources for the study of Canadian Literature in English.  Many of these resources are found online, or are held in the Scott Library Reference Department.  To find books and other materials in the York University Library system on this topic, you can search Yorkline, the library's online catalogue. 

The Archives and Special Collections unit at York University also has a wealth of archival material related to Canadian Literature, and holds the literary papers of many prominent Canadian authors.  

For additional assistance, please speak with a reference librarian, located on the 2nd floor of Scott Library. 



 
Library Home

General Resources

Genre-Specific Resources

See also:


Associations

Book and Periodical Council
Provides information on the council and its activities, as well as links to web sites on issues related to intellectual freedom.

The Canadian Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies
Includes a handy list of research links for the study of commonwealth literature.

Canada Council on the Arts
Features of the site include:  comprehensive information on the Council's grants to artists and arts organizations, endowments and prizes, as well as news and events.

Canadian Writers Association
Provides a handy list of "Writing Links" to Canadian and international resources for writers.

PEN Canada
PEN Canada is the Canadian chapter of International Pen, a lobby organization dedicated to freedom of expression. The site contains links to Web sites dealing with freedom of expression, as well as a calendar of events.

Writer's Union of Canada
Provides information on membership and services, awards and competitions, and general information for emerging writers.

top of page Go to top


Awards and Events

Canada Council for the Arts:  Events
A current listing of news, events, and press releases from the Council.

Canada's Major National Literary Awards
The National Library of Canada's list of major Canadian literary awards, with lists of winners from the last ten years.

CanLit Contests
A list of literary contests originating in Canada, arranged by genre.

Giller Prize
An annual award given to the best Canadian novel or short story collection written in English.

Harbourfront Reading Series
A year-round program that includes the signature event, The International Festival of Authors.

Word:  Toronto's Literary Calendar
A monthly calendar of literary events in the Greater Toronto Area.

top of page Go to top


Biographical Sources

Canadian Writers Before 1980.  (Dictionary of Literary Biography Series Vol. 99)  Detroit:  Gale Research, 1990.  Scott Reference, Biography Section  PN 451 D53 v. 99.
Substantial biographies with references.

Canadian Writers, 1890-1920.  (Dictionary of Literary Biography Series Vol. 92).  Detroit: Gale Research, 1990.   Scott Reference, Biography Section PN 451 D53 v. 92.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography.  Toronto:  U of T Press, 1966-. 
Scott Reference, Biography Section 
FC 25 D52.
Medium-length entries on notable Canadians in history, including writers.  

ECW's Biographical Guide to Canadian Novelists. Robert Lecker, et al.  
Toronto:  EWC Press, 1993.   Scott Reference PS 8081 E28 1993.
Three to five page biographies of fifty well-known Canadian writers.

Literary Cafe
Provides an alphabetical listing of authors with links to Web pages on their life and work.

Online Guide to Writing in Canada:  Authors
Includes bibliographies, biographies and criticism on Canadian authors.

Who's Who in Canadian Literature.  Toronto: Reference Press, 1997/98.
Scott Reference, Biography Section PS 8081 W48 1997/98.
Brief biographies of a wide selection of Canadian writers and their publications and awards.

Writers in Electronic Residence:  Author Bios

Brief biographies of authors who have participated in the Writers in Electronic Residence program.

top of page Go to top


Literary Criticism

Books in Canada  
Full-text of selected issues is available to York University members via Canadian Index.
Print edition: Scott Stacks  Z 1369 B625.
Reviews of literary, intellectual and political books, along with essays and interviews with Canadian authors.

Canadian Literature
Print edition: Scott Reference PS 8001 C25.
A quarterly publication of critical essays and book reviews.  Web site allows users to search or browse the table on contents of all journals, from 1959 to the present.

Canadian Literature Research Service
A specialized research service offered by the National Library of Canada.

Canadian Writers and their Works: Fiction Series. Robert Lecker, et al.  Downsview: ECW Press, 1983-1986. Scott Reference: PS 8187 C37.
Ten volumes of critical essays on Canadian fiction, with biographies of writers and selected bibliographies.

Essays on Canadian Writing

Full-text available(1995- present) to York University members via Canadian Periodical Index.
Print edition: Scott Reference:  PS 8001 E75.

Web site provides abstracts of current issue and index to back issues.

Quill and Quire
Full-text (1995 - present) is available to York University members via the Canadian Periodical Index.
Microfilm copy:  Scott Microtext, Z 487 Q82

Reports on book trade news in Canada. Includes features on authors, genres and trends in publishing and book buying and selling.

Studies in Canadian Literature
Full-text (1995 - present)is available to York University members via the Canadian Periodical Index.
Print edition: Scott:  PS 8001 S8.

A bilingual journal devoted to the study of Canadian Literature in English and French. Web site provides abstracts of issues from 1980-1995, table of contents for recent issues, and full-text of selected issues.

top of page Go to top


Periodical Indexes and Abstracts

(Available only to York University users)

Canadian Index
A bibliographic database for over 600 Canadian periodicals and 8 newspapers with selective full-text from more than 150 of these sources.  

Canadian Periodical Index
An index to more than 400 English and French language journals and magazines, with 160 full-text titles.  Includes the major Canadian literary and reviewing journals.  

Essay and General Literature Index
A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Subject overage includes literary criticism.  

Humanities Index
A bibliographic index to 350 journals, covering literature and related disciplines.

MLA
The MLA International Bibliography provides bibliographic records relating to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series, and also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.  Covers 1963 to the present.   

top of page Go to top


Poetry

Canadian Poetry (University of Toronto English Library)
Provides comprehensive links to Web sites of Canadian poets, presses, journals, as well as selections of online poetry.

Canadian Poetry (University of Western Ontario)
Includes an annotated list of poetry Web sites, and selected full-text articles from Canadian Poetry:  Studies, Documents, Reviews

Canadian Poetry Archive (National Library of Canada)
The Canadian Poetry Archive provides access to selected poems by over 100 early English and French-language Canadian poets. The database is searchable by poet, title, keyword(s) and date. Author, title and date indexes can also be browsed.

Canadian Poetry Association
All things poetry from Canada's national poetry organization. Canadian Poets Online (University of Calgary)
An organized guide to the chronological, geographical, and publication histories of selected Twentieth-Century Canadian poets writing in English.

ECW's Biographical Guide to Canadian Poets.  Robert Lecker et al., Toronto:  ECW Press, 1993.
Scott Reference PS 8141 E28 1993.
Short biographies of fifty Canadian poets.

League of Canadian Poets
The national association of professional publishing and performing poets in Canada.  The web site provides links to resources for poets and educators, selected poetry sites, biographical information on current members, and a selection of poetry reviews.


top of page Go to top


Native Canadian Writers

Ethnic and Native Canadian Literature.  John P. Miska.  Toronto:  U of T Press, 1990.
Scott Reference Z 1376 E87 M5 1990.
Comprehensive references to primary and secondary material by ethnic and native Canadians, arranged by nationality/language groups.

Finding out about Native Canadian Women Writers Published in English
A guide from the National Library of Canada.

Mukwa Geezis
.  Miranda Chitze.  Toronto:  Wabanoong Multimedia:  1997.
Scott Reference PS 8235 16 M85 1997
Bibliography of indigenous authors and editors.  Includes some biographical information.

Native American Authors (Internet Public Library)
Provides comprehensive information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.  Includes Native Canadian authors.

Native North American Literature.  Janet Witalec, ed.  New York:  Gale Research, 1994.
Scott Reference, PS 508 I5 N38 1994
Biographical and critical information on native writers from historical times to the present.

North America Native Authors Catalog Online
An online catalog to over 700 titles, with author biographies and tribal information. 

top of page Go to top


Women Writers

A Celebration of Women Writers:  Canada
Provides a comprehensive listing of links to biographical and bibliographical information about female Canadian writers, and complete texts written by Canadian women.

Room of One's Own Magazine
A magazine of short stories, poems, art and reviews by, for and about women.  Selections from the current and back issues are available online.

Women Writers of Early Canada

top of page Go to top